Pedagogical Mentor Award

2022 Award Winner

Dr. Rasha Ramzy, Associate Chair and Senior Lecturer, Communication



Each year, graduate students will be asked to nominate a faculty member who has served as a teaching inspiration and mentor. The faculty member is someone who has served as an official or unofficial teaching mentor.

Nominees will be considered according to the following criteria:

1. Evidence of mentorship (as represented by the demonstration of effective and innovative teaching, one-on-one guidance, willingness to share expertise, and engagement with graduate teaching assistants).

2. Evidence of leadership (as represented by positions held in the department related to graduate student teaching development, presentations to graduate students, participation in co-teaching, observations, or other endeavors designed to improve graduate student teaching).

Mentors cannot “self-nominate.” All mentors must be nominated by graduate students from their departments.

Questions about this award can be sent to Jennifer Hall:

Previous Winners

2021: Dr. Feng Yang, Kinesiology and Health

2020: Dr. Stephanie Gutzler, Biology
2019: Dr. Janice Fournillier, Department of Educational Policy Studies
2019: Dr. Julie Kubala, The Institute for Women’s Gender and Sexuality Studies
2018: Dr. Elizabeth Lopez, Associate Professor, English 
2017: Dr. Sandra Dwyer, Principal Senior Lecturer, Philosophy
2016: Mindy Stombler, Principle Senior Lecturer, Sociology